As reported by Mashable Google is re-branding Picasa and Blogger to Google Photos and Google Blogs. Not to worry if you use these services everything should stay the same but will have a new look, I suspect there might be some hiccups along the way but your data should be fine.

Mashable also mentioned this should take place in about 6 weeks which is the same time Google is going to delete all private Google profiles.

What are profiles? This is from Google’s help page which has not confirmed to deletion of PRIVATE profiles:

Your profile is the way you present yourself on Google products and across the web. With your profile, you can manage the information that people see–such as your bio, contact details, and links to other sites about you or created by you.

If you choose to create a profile, at a minimum, your first name, last name, gender and profile photo will be public on the Internet. You can then provide a variety of additional information about yourself in your profile. You can also enable people to contact you without displaying your contact information.

Important points about profiles

  • Changing your name in your profile changes your name in your Google Account as well. This change will be reflected in other Google products you sign in to with your account, like Gmail and Docs.
  • Deleting your profile won’t delete your Google Account.
  • People who have your email address might see a link to the profile that’s associated with that email address.

Let’s stay tuned to see where they are going